The Open Directory Project.

Directory of Local Councils Resources

Home > Regional > Europe > United Kingdom > Wales > Government > Local Councils

Whereas Wales has 22 unitary authorities, because of population distribution some of these are divided into
more than one electoral constituency, making up 40 by 2015.
Those unaltered are Blaenau Gwent, Bridgeend, Ceredigion, Torfaen, Vale of Glamorgan, and
Wrexham, with Angelesey named Ynys Môn, and Monmouth for Monmouthshire.
Caerphilly is associated with three constituencies; within its boundary one named Islwyn, one shared
with Newport, and the other with Merthyr Tydfil named Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney.
Whereas Newport also has Newport East and Newport West.
Cardiff has four; Cardiff Central, Cardiff North and Cardif West.
Cardiff South includes Penarth from the Vale of Glamorgan.
Three constituencies are associated with Carmarthenshire; Carmarthenshire East and Dinefwr,
Carmarthenshire West and South Pembrokeshire, then Lannelli that includes some of Swansea County.
Most of Pembrokeshire is represented by the Preseli Pembrokeshire constituency.
Conwy has its constituencies named after the preserved county; Clwyd West,
whereas Cwyd South includes part of Denbighshire.
Denbighshire has Aberconwy and the Vale of Clwyd.
Flintshire has a constituency named Delwyn, but also has part with Wrexham called Alyn and Deeside.
Gwynedd has two; Arfon and Dwyfor Meirionydd.
Neath Port Talbot has two constituencies; Aberavon and Neath.
Powys is divided in to two; Montgomeryshire and the Brecon and Radnorshire constituency.
Rhondda Cynon Taf has four constituencies; Cynon Valley, Ogmore, Pontypridd and Rhondda.
Swansea has three constituencies; Gower, Swansea East and Swansea West.


Resources in This Category

Related Categories


Home > Regional > Europe > United Kingdom > Wales > Government > Local Councils



Thanks to DMOZ, which built a great web directory for nearly two decades and freely shared it with the web. About us