The Open Directory Project.

Directory of NFL Europa Resources

Home > Sports > Football > American > History > NFL Europa

NFL Europa was founded in 1991 as the World League of American Football with ten teams in Europe and North America. It was suspended after the 1992 season. In 1995 it was restarted as a Europe-only league. It consisted of the original three European Teams from the WLAF (London Monarchs, Frankfurt Galaxy, Barcelona Dragons) and three new teams (Amsterdam Admirals, Rhein Fire, Scottish Claymores). Several teams have folded since then, but they have each been replaced. As of the 2005 season, five of the six teams are in Germany, with the sixth being the Amsterdam Admirals. In 1998 the league was renamed to NFL Europe. The league name was changed again, to NFL Europa, in 2006. After the 2007 season, in spite of strong attendance numbers, the NFL folded the league.


Resources in This Category

Related Categories


Home > Sports > Football > American > History > NFL Europa



Thanks to DMOZ, which built a great web directory for nearly two decades and freely shared it with the web. About us