The Open Directory Project.

Directory of Cape Breton Resources

Home > Regional > North America > Canada > Nova Scotia > Counties > Cape Breton

Taking its name from Cape Breton, the most easterly point of Cape Breton Island, which was called after either the Bretons of England or the Bretons of Brittany, this county has what is probably the oldest surviving European name to have been used to designate part of North America. By proclamation of October 17, 1763 after termination of the Seven Years War, Cape Breton Island was formally annexed to Nova Scotia. For a time thereafter Cape Breton Island was part of Halifax County. On December 10, 1765 Cape Breton Island was set apart as a separate county. From 1784 to 1820 Cape Breton Island was a separate colony with a Lieutenant Governor and a nominated Council, but without an elected house of assembly. Not until after Cape Breton was reannexed to Nova Scotia in 1820 did it get representation in a house of Assembly. Although subdivided into three districts in 1824, Cape Breton County was co-extensive with Cape Breton Island from 1820 to 1835 when the county was divided into three separate and distinct counties - Cape Breton (Northeastern District), Richmond (Southern District) and Juste au Corps (Northwest District) later called Inverness. In 1851 Victoria County was formed out of part of Cape Breton County and a year later, in 1852, the boundaries of Cape Breton County were redefined.


Resources in This Category

Related Categories


Home > Regional > North America > Canada > Nova Scotia > Counties > Cape Breton



Thanks to DMOZ, which built a great web directory for nearly two decades and freely shared it with the web. About us